On election night you can contact us via our servicedesk from 10pm UTC+1/CET
Phone: +49 40-4113 31000, Mail: service@dpa-info.com


Detailed information for API customers is summarised in the following document: http://dpaq.de/JX5hv


We decided to use CNN as a source again based on the experience of previous years. This proved particularly useful during the 2020 US election, when the editorial board made a slightly more conservative decision to "call" a state. This approach meant that, on the one hand, no correction was necessary and, on the other, the CNN team kept all decisions transparent on TV.

Schedule of the election night

Data and graphs update after polls close in each state.

When do the widgets switch from polls to "live"?

By default, the switchover takes place 15 minutes before 0:00 = 11.45 pm CET/UTC+1. These 15 minutes are the default value. On the setup page, this value can be customized by you under Settings/AutoResetTime.

When can we expect first data?

The first polling stations close in Indiana and Kentucky at 00:00 CET/UTC+1. First, we expect results from districts, which we do not publish. It could therefore take a little longer before interim results with counting progress can be expected from the respective state. In dpa´s newswire the first safe seat in the 2018 Midterms was reported from Indiana at 03:09 UTC+1.

When do we start publishing data from a state?

We capture and send first results from a state as soon as the 1% count is reached.

When does the total number of seats increase?

When CNN calls a winner in a state, we first update the overall result for Democrats, Republicans or Independents. Then we will broadcast the result from that state. Therefore, for a very short time, the absolute number of the total result may be slightly different from the sum of all regional results in the states.

API clients: House of Representatives winners are marked as "is_winner" as soon as all results from a state are available.

What types of results are expected?

In the simulations, we also went through the exit polls and projections result types to be prepared for anything. The result type on election night will be "Intermediate" with a very high probability until a provisional final result is available.

Will all states end up with a provisional result?

It is likely that not all states will have decisions on November 10th. The remaining decisions may be delayed for days. Run-off elections are also conceivable in some states.

What is the procedure for very close results?

If the results in a state are very close and our source CNN publishes two decimal places, we will also report these intermediate results in this way. For these close races, we will also publish and update absolute numbers.

When will absolute votes from the states be published?

Absolute vote totals from states will be sent with the provisional final results, or if it is a very close race in a state.

How do states colour in on the map?

If the result in a state is very close and the outcome is open, that state is declared "too close to call" or "tossup". Then the respective states are coloured in a dark grey on our map. As soon as a tendency for a political camp is visible, we can colour the respective state blue, red or green. We can grade the colour tones between light (leans), medium (likely) and full (safe).

Will voter turnout in the states be published?

In 2018 voter turnout was not published by CNN. However, we are able to publish these values when data permits.

API: When are candidates marked as winners in a state?

We distinguish between the Senate and House in the way we work. Once it is determined which person was elected as a senator in a state, that person is marked as the winner.

The newly elected members of the House of Representatives are marked as soon as all seats in a state have been determined.

API: At what point should data be accessed more frequently?

With the closing of polling stations at 00:00 UTC+1, results can be reported. This is a good time to also check the API more frequently.


Battlegrounds are states where a close race is expected and the outcome of the election can go either way. These states are of particular interest, as they are the most likely to see majority change.

Senate election: special information on particular US states

Some states have more than 3 candidates, Louisiana even 13. We show all candidates by default. Via your setup page/settings you can set the number of bars/candidates down (3-4 is recommended).

Alaska: For the first time in 2022, a new election procedure applies in Alaska - the "best" four of the primaries go into the final round. For this reason, two Republicans, Lisa Murkowski and Kelly Tshibaka, will be on the ballot on 8 November.  

North Dakota: Katrina Christiansen, who is running in North Dakota, is running for the North Dakota Democratic-Nonpartisan League Party. The Democratic-NPL is a sister party of the US Democrats, who are not running for office in North Dakota. For uniformity and user-friendliness, Ms Christiansen is counted as a US Democrat in our widgets.

Louisiana: The legal system in Louisiana differs from that of all other US states for historical reasons. For the election this means: On 08.11. all 13 candidates will run. If none of these candidates gets an absolute majority, there will be a run-off election on 10 December.

Oklahoma: In Oklahoma, exceptionally, both senatorial posts are up for election in 2022. In addition to the regular midterms election for the Senate seat of incumbent James Lankford, the seat of Senator James Inhofe, who retires early from office at the end of 2022, is also up for election. So there is one line for each Oklahoma-seat in the senate-list.

Utah: In Utah, the US Democrats have decided not to run their own party candidate. Their support there is for the independent candidate Evan McMullin.

Opening hours of the polling stations:

Statelocal timeBerlin (CET)
Indiana (IN)06.00 - 18.0012.00 - 00.00
Kentucky (KY)06.00 - 18.0012.00 - 00.00
Florida (FL)07.00 - 19.0013.00 - 01.00
Georgia (GA)07.00 - 19.0013.00 - 01.00
South Carolina (SC)07.00 - 19.0013.00 - 01.00
Vermont (VT)05.00 - 19.0011.00 - 01.00
New Hampshire (NH)11.00 - 19.0017.00 - 01.00
North Carolina (NC)06.30 - 19.3012.30 - 01.30
Ohio (OH)06.30 - 19.3012.30 - 01.30
Connecticut (CT)06.00 - 20.0012.00 - 02.00
New York (NY)06.00 - 21.0012.00 - 03.00
Illinois (IL)06.00 - 19.0013.00 - 02.00
Maryland (MD)07.00 - 20.0013.00 - 02.00
Missouri (MO)06.00 - 19.0013.00 - 02.00
Pennsylvania (PA)07.00 - 20.0013.00 - 02.00
Alabama (AL)07.00 - 19.0014.00 - 02.00
Kansas (KS)07.00 - 19.0014.00 - 02.00
Oklahoma (OK)07.00 - 19.0014.00 - 02.00
South Dakota (SD)07.00 - 19.0014.00 - 02.00
Arizona (AZ)06.00 - 19.0014.00 - 03.00
Iowa (IA)07.00 - 20.0014.00 - 03.00
Louisiana (LA)07.00 - 20.0014.00 - 03.00
Wisconsin (WI)07.00 - 20.0014.00 - 03.00
Arkansas (AR)07-30 - 19.3014.30 - 02.30
Colorado (CO)07.00 - 19.0015.00 - 03.00
Alaska (AK)07.00 - 20.0015.00 - 04.00
Utah (UT)07.00 - 20.0015.00 - 04.00
North Dakota ( ND)09.00 - 19.0016.00 - 02.00
Idaho (ID)08.00 - 20.0016.00 - 04.00
California (CA)07.00 - 20.0016.00 - 05.00
Washington (WA)07.30 - 20.0016.30 - 05.00
Nevada (NV)09.00 - 19.0018.00 - 04.00
Hawaii (HI)07.00 - 19.0018.00 - 06.00
Oregon (OR)07.00 - 20.0016.00 - 05.00